As well as going to the Saatchi Gallery on Wednesday, I insisted we (me and my friends) went to the Exposure Gallery, which was very close to Oxford Street, where we intended to spend the late afternoon shopping. The reason I wanted to attend the gallery, was because one of my close friends had his work exhibited there. Jack Stocker, who I know from our passion for trainers, is an 18 (soon to be 19) year old creative from Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex. I have known Jack for over a year, and we have many many things in common, such as our love for all areas of design and the sneaker and streetwear culture. I first saw Jack on Instagram, under the name ‘Freshlystocked’, where we both appreciated each other’s collection of shoes and the design work we chose to put on Instagram. A few months ago, Jack decided to start a series of Sneaker Illustrations for his college his course. Each design he uploaded onto Instagram, and he had a huge sea of amazement from all of his followers and the wider community. Web blogs started to see his work, and featured him on their sites, such as Hypebeast, Highsnobiety, The Daily Street, Size? blog, iLL Sessions and many more!

DSC_0168

DSC_0173

DSC_0179

DSC_0180At first, Jack created six illustrations, based on six of the original Nike Air release – the Air Max 1, the Air Max 90, Air 180, Air Max Light, Air Huarache and the Air Flow, all in one of their signature colourways, and went on to print an exclusive range of 30 prints for each design, which can all be brought online. As a huge fan of these shoes, his minimalistic style just made the pieces even better. Using no curvature on a shoe made purely out of curved lines and making it easily recognisable was probably such a hard task, and I’m so proud for Jack that his work has been given the credit it deserves.

This exhibition is up for the rest of September, so I advise anyone reading this to go to Oxford street and check it out!

