On Wednesday 11th September, me and two friends from Uni travelled down to London once again. Our main intention was to head to the Saatchi Gallery, as I had heard (and seen) many great things from friends. I researched into the exhibition online before I went, and saw many of the pieces photographed online that were in the exhibition – which ruined the excitement a little, but there were also many I hadn’t seen online! The exhibition was titled ‘Paper’ and I thought that this could come in very hand with us as designers as it could easily inspire us to use some of the techniques we saw in our own work. We walked through the gallery chronologically – one of the many good points about the Saatchi (design wise) was that each room was labelled and the position of each room and the signs guiding you around, made it so easy to seamlessly walk through the whole gallery. Gallery 3 saw my favourite artist of the entire day; one which I hadn’t seen online, and their work amazed me and both of my friends.  Yuken Teruya (the featured artist) was born 1973 and is based in New York City. Teruya was born in Okinawa, Japan, and he works in a variety of media and often references consumer culture alongside traditional craft techniques. Featured in the Saatchi Gallery, were his series of McDonalds and high-end designer store bags, into which Yuken Teruya cut intricate tree shapes that are then pushed through into the interior of the bag, creating an enclosed environment. The pieces were so stunning to see – we spent a good fifteen minutes in that room (more than any other artist). The level of detail put was incredible – and the way each tree sits perfectly in the bag was just absolutely mind blowing.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0039

DSC_0044The second artist I am going to show you is Marcelo Jácome. After looking at the Saatchi Website, I had already seen the piece of work being exhibited by Marcelo Jácome. It was really unmissable, and I’m sure you will understand why when you seen the pictures after the break. The piece, titled Planos-pipas n17, was used as the main ‘imagery’ for the exhibition, and took up an entire room (Gallery 7) of the Saatchi. Made from Tissue paper, bamboo, fibreglass and cotton thread, probably measured over 50ft in diameter, and probably 15ft in height.

DSC_0071

DSC_0076

DSC_0083Like you can see, the piece was stunning. I was speechless when I saw it in person. The shapes created combined with the variety of colours is incredible. Each different angle you stand you see something different – a different composition. Thousands of paintings could be created from this object of beauty. The object is so photographic, much like the work by Yuken Teruya, as you can see above in both sets of images (which I took myself).

I thoroughly loved the Saatchi Gallery, and I would not hesitate on going to see it again – whether or not it was the exhibition on paper. The Gallery was so well designed and set out that it was so lovely to go around. The fact we went in midweek after all the schools and colleges went back helped a lot, giving us many opportunities for photography without people getting in the way.

I would suggest the Saatchi Gallery to absolutely anyone. My favourite exhibition I have ever been to.

