On 1st August, whilst at my summer placement at Connect Advertising (in Wolverhampton), I met up with my friend (from the course) and we went to the Wolverhampton Art Gallery during my lunch break. I had heard off a few of my colleagues at the placement that the exhibitions featured at the moment were very good, and many of them had visited the gallery themselves in the past days/weeks. Before entering the gallery, I had a vague idea what was exhibited, but I didn’t know the exact artists or genres featured. The first piece of art we saw was a piece by David Mach called Likeness Guaranteed (1956). Composed of 1,850 metal coat hangers, this was a portrait of the TV presenter and rock singer Richard Jobson, who was known for his ‘typical Scottish features’. Mach as an artist, gathers everyday objects such as tyres, magazines and containers to create monumental works of art.

IMG_20130801_130735The first artist room we entered was of Pauline Boty, the pop artist. One of my favourite pieces by Boty was a piece called ‘Colour Her Gone’ (1962). Boty identified with Marilyn Monroe and was devastated by her death.

IMG_20130801_131400The image of Monroe was taken from the cover of Town Magazine; smiling vividly. The rectangular abstract shapes either side signify the female sensuality. Like many pieces of Pop Art, at a first glance, I was confused to the ‘meaning; of the piece. After reading the caption next to the piece, I found out Boty made this piece to show the female form and the beautiful nature of the famous Monroe.

A second favourite piece by Boty was titled Buffalo (1960/61). It is evident in this piece that Boty was influenced by the Dada collagist Kurt Schwitters (who I featured earlier in my ITAP work). “… things I just pick up like cigarette packs and milk bottle tops and matchbox tops and rifle range targets…”. In this piece, it looks like the artist has used dancing figures, a cigarette packet and varied explosions of paint.

IMG_20130801_131453Moving on to the second featured artist, Ron Mueck. There is no doubt Ron Mueck’s work is absolutely outstanding. Mueck creates lifelike figures (of humans) in poses and situations known to the average human. Inside the room, were 4 pieces of art – some ranging in size from 30cm tall, to (probably) 12ft+! My favourite piece was one titled ‘Youth’, from 2009/11. The caption next to the image read nothing but the title, so I don’t know much about it, but the figure is pictured below.

IMG_20130801_132259The level of detail in this figure is absolutely outstanding. The little things, such as the wet (glossy) paint on the cut on his ribs, or the (Levi’s) red tab on the back pocket of his jeans, all make this figure outstanding. It was my favourite piece at the entire exhibition – purely because it was so cool! It was such nice piece of art for the average viewer to be amazed at.

Into the third room at the gallery, was an assorted room of arts, with pieces by Conrad Atkinson, Willie Doherty and many more. The pieces of art I wish to feature are by John Keane. ‘Black, White and Orange’ (1990) and ‘1690 and All That’ (1990) were two Linocut’s exhibited together.

IMG_20130801_133504The pieces look both to be political-based scenarios – the first of a group of people; protesting or marching with a flag through the town/city – a reference to the Orange Order; the protestant, loyalist organisation founded in 1795 in N. Ireland. The image also shows the flag of ‘King Billy’ whilst police helicopters fly overhead. The second piece of art is about the importance of history and tradition in forming the attitudes and identity or Irish protestants. I really like the visual feel of both images; during college in Fine Art I created many different linocuts and prints of different methods, so traditional imagery and techniques intrigue me.

I really enjoyed visiting the Wolverhampton Art Gallery, and I would definitely go back again; even to visit the same event. I am really looking forward to visit more galleries over the summer – hopefully to visit two more exhibitions I have never been to, to see new environments and types of Art.

