Chip Kidd, born 1964, is an American author, editor, and Graphic Designer, who is best known for his book covers. Kidd is currently the associate art director at Knopf, and has done covers for The Rolling Stone and books by Michael Crichton such as Jurassic Park and The Lost World. Chip Kidd is a great user of Blank space and many of his designs are very simple, effective and extremely attractive on the eye. I first heard of Chip Kidd when I saw a design he did for Vladimir Nabokov for the book Ada or, Adore. The Design, (pictured below) is a 2D cover which looks extremely Three Dimensional. I love the general effect of this piece, but one thing I find fascinating is the gradient in the text – going through the gradients of grey to black, and then through to red in the distance.

ada_or_ardor.large

Another personal favourite from Chip Kidd is his cover for Rolling Stone. The design concept on this piece is absolutely incredible. There is a definite pattern running through the pieces and designers I select to be my heroes; simplistic design and elements of quirkiness. This cover is brilliant. Each question you ask yourself regarding the placement and reasoning behind the design, the answer will be yes. It’s such a simple idea with a simple, perfect execution. There isn’t too much I can say about this design, apart from me absolutely loving it. The red background emphasizes the text and the normal black shadow detail keeps the feeling/branding behind the magazine.

cover-chip-kidd-rolling-stone-magazine

This image below is another of my favourites. It was really hard to find an image that you (the reader) would understand without ready this text. Creating Illusions in Designs is something else I am really fond of at the moment, and the book is beautiful. The book opens up with varied page sizes (some pages are half the length, including the left side of the cover). It’s similar to Paul Belford – making an Ad, not look like an Ad, and this works in the same way; making a book cover, not look like a book cover. I am intrigued to have a look at this book in my hands and consider the interactions as part of the design.

Chip_Kidd

 

