On February 28th, we were presented with a series of designers by Ros Sinclair. The three that stood out to me were Helmut Krone, Paul Belford & Juan Cabrel. I had seen many pieces of Juan Cabrel before, such as the Gorilla advert for Cadbury’s, and the Sony Bravia Colour Dispay Ad. I chose not to feature Cabrel in this post because I wanted to focus on more conventional design that I can see myself being influenced in the future.

The first designer I am going to discuss is Helmut Krone. In the lecture, we were shown designs he did for Volkswagen, titled ‘Think Small’.

volkswagen_think_small

It was voted the No. 1 campaign of all time in Advertising Age’s 1999 The Century of Advertising issue. It was said that “The campaign has been considered so successful that it “did much more than just boost sales for Volkswagen and built a lifetime of brand loyalty. The ad, and the work of the ad agency behind it, changed the very nature of advertising – from the way it’s created to what you see as a consumer today.” I think that the above quote suits the design absolutely perfect. You can see how Helmut Krone has staged Design to this very day. His use of blank space and visual hierarchy is absolutely perfect. This piece, which was made in the 50s, uses the same typeface that Volkswagen use today – and this shows how strong the bond between the brand and the public that Krone created or should I say mastered. Krone also did similar designs to Think Small for VW, pictured below.

volkswagen-lemon-advert1

They both use the same layout, and gave the same visual effect as the Think Small ad. The three blocks of type with the VW logo intertwined, and the image background being blank enough for the type to sit on that it becomes ‘blank, white space’. After viewing these adverts, I can honestly say I’ve found another hero to note throughout my future design career.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Think_Small

The second and final designer I’m featuring is Paul Belford. The main set of images we were shown were for the Bookstore Waterstones. Belford’s talent was making an ad, not look like an Ad. This is a very hard task, to make a piece of advertisement look so natural like people would take it to be a piece to admire, like a photograph or an illustration.

0

The above example is showing how Belford has made his ideas so simple and so effective that people won’t take them for Advertising. As a piece for The Economist, the worldwide magazine, it is simple to see how the idea, is the idea – and the target audience will see that.

Below is a piece of his Graphic Design. Like I have said before, I am a huge fan of Japenese/Chinese type and the use of symbols/silhouettes in design. The design on the black flyer looks from this angle it could be hot foil printed – another thing I absolutely adore. The littlest of things in and on design make them hugely impressive in my eyes. If someone has gone that extra mile whether it is in detail, material, purpose or in many more areas, it makes the design ever so more special, and that’s something which I really like this design for. Paul Belford has defiantly enlightened me into the way you can make something more appealing by making it look less like what you imply it to me, but keeping the same level of idea, message and finish.

1 (2)

