Mel Brimfield was another artist I missed the first time around BMAG. This work by was commissioned by the Government Art Collection for the exhibition, ‘Commissions: Now and Then’, held at the Whitechapel Gallery, London from June to September 2012, and then moved to the Birmingham Art Gallery for the exhibition we visited. Unfortunately, I was stopped from taking photos of this work, so the images below (and the history) are from the link provided. This was probably my favourite series from the whole trip, and why I’ve left it til last. The space consisted of many objects, including a self playing, illustrated piano, and the two pieces of work displayed below.

18429

 

My favourite individual piece in this series is the image on the left (featured in a higher quality below). All the pieces were related to Roger Bannister, the famous 1500m runner. The piano had type reading “Prepared Pianola For Roger Bannister”, and both designs included facts about his winning event. I reason I love the below image so much is the feel of celebration you get from reading the individual facts. The design on it is absoluetly fantastic – I love the shade of blue used in the background, and then the white type with the red shadow to allow it to stand out. I reminds me of the colours used (in design) for the original tinted lenses 3D glasses. That could have been something Mel Brimfield designed it for; as it being an ‘old’ event, She could have implied its age by using the old 3D methods. The design to me seems very simple even though there isn’t too much ‘blank space’. The design all flows together by the use of curved lines and strong type. The design on the right of the running blocks with the partisipants name, countries and then their starting race path is absolutely fantastic.

5

 

This below image is also fantastic. Something I notice immediately is the aspect of the design being ‘pinned’ up in a frame – so uncropped, and this is something I’m seeing more in ‘ammeter’ design on blogs I use such as Tumblr. It’s an easy and effective method that makes something look that little bit more real. Its sometimes paired with crease marks, from shadows and gradients people have applied in Photoshop or Illustrator. This crease effect isn’t used in this piece, and looking at the print up close, it looks very clean and well designed. It’s extremely detailed in the overlapping of circuits, and the use of the orange on grey/white is perfect – and a colour scheme I find really effective (as you can see from the appearance of my blog).

6

I hope to find some more Mel Brimfield pieces similiar to this on the internet or from the libary, because it is something that really appeals to me. I may use Mel as one my final heroes IF the research I do pays off.

http://www.gac.culture.gov.uk/work.aspx?obj=35871

