When we went to BMAG, the main feature was the Government Art Collection. Outside BMAG, huge posters hung advertising this exhibition, with Andy Warhol’s design of the Queen (pictured below) on this poster, as it was the main attraction. Unfortunately, the first time we went around BMAG (on the Thursday), I missed the room the main Government Art was displayed in, along with many more great artwork my fellow students were talking about. When walking around with my friend, I think we went into the Museum sections before we had seen all of the artwork, so I went back early the following week to see what I had missed, and found some of the artists I will be talking about on here.

2f5b1b21dd9cb138a1edb8845e7b4c5a_0

I have been a great lover of Andy Warhol and his work for many years; throughout my Art course at High School & College, it gave me the ideas to do more ‘graphic’ pieces than traditional fine art – and this was perfectly fine to all my teachers. His work gave me the opportunity (and provided reference) to create piece that would be more describable as Illustration, as this was the method I preferred.

One of his most famous images; Marilyn Monroe (pictured below), was the first piece of Warhol’s I ever saw. The artwork is now pictured in huge galleries all over the world, such as The Tate, but my favourite thing about this image is it’s age. Created in 1962, but it looks like something someone has drawn up on Illustrator and Photoshop. Printed as a Lithographic poster on paper, the famous piece looks extremely contemporary, like a very recent piece that someone has drawn up in the past years.

marilyn-monroe-painting1

 

In terms of Design, I a huge fan of the way Andy Warhol has used strong shapes of colour in many of his pieces. Used as background or inter sections on a face (both shown above), his choice of colour & shape and positioning is incredible. The tones he creates – on the Government Queen piece create the tones of the Queen we see – such as on a bank note and then in photo’s/television. His use of rough line – probably a result of the printing processes he went through, such as I did when printing from Lino Cuts, is incredible. The colours all look so bright and consistent which counteract the roughness of shape and line, to create some truly stunning pieces.

