Jonny Griffiths presented us his Design Hero; Matt Pyke. Matt Pyke’s work is visually stunning, and explores the tension and differences between abstract art and figurative form. He uses many elements of design, including Illustration, Graphic Design & Typography, and collaborates them all into film and theatre, which I think is truly amazing. We can call his work ‘design’, but they are really pieces of graphically-inspired Motion Graphics.

I really like Matt Pyke’s work; it’s not really something I do myself, or something I could do, but I really do appreciate all of his work – and as a member of his target audience; the general public, I can honestly say I find his work very very interesting. In particular, I love the adverts/designs he did for the 2012 Olympics. I really like the designs he did for the presentation Seb Co gave to unveil the Olympics ‘image’ or ‘brand’ (pictured below). There was also a video he produced for the Olympics, which showed scenes from the summers events; such as wheelchair basketball & athletics – with a ‘bouncing’ trail of coloured shape shooting around off the walls/ceilings and through the scenarios. I loved this video the first time I ever saw it – as it shows the 2012 image perfectly.

ue

Another thing I really liked about Matt Pyke from the presentation we saw was how he worked. He told us, in a video for Apple Macintosh, how his ‘company’; Universal Everything corresponded with each other – as they all individually live all around the UK. It is pretty obvious people use these services, such as FaceTime or Skype, to contact clients and other designers all around the UK and in other countries, but it’s ‘clever’ to think that ‘everything’ they do is over the internet. Now with services such as iCloud, iDisk and Dropbox, where all files can be stored for access on many computers and devices, the bond they have from miles away is stronger than ever, and I’m sure technology will continue to develop so one day, things will be even easier than they are now. The image below is Matt Pyke in his ‘studio’, which as we saw in a video, was like a ‘shed’ in his garden. The scenario was very natural – you could hear the birds singing and the sun casting beautiful natural light into the room. This fits in perfectly with a previous ITAP lecture in Part 1, where we had to consider our ideal ‘working’ environment  This is a perfect example of how someone can work better (or as good) in their home environment than studio, and how Matt Pyke can use technology in this ‘partnership’ is something I can heavily relate to, as I work with two guys from Wales on a clothing line, and we talk and transfer files on the internet; through communication programs such as Skype & Facebook, and file sharing sites such as Dropbox.

MP_in_studio_by_SB

