We have now moved onto the second part of ITAP, where the lectures now focus on a selection of our Lecturers Design Hero(es). I love these lectures because I know for a fact I can get influenced by design (creating motivation) very easily. I am always intrigued to find new designers, so as well as writing blog posts on my Lecturers Heroes, I will be including my own (new and old) throughout the process.

The first Design Hero we were presented with was Saul Bass. I have always loved Saul Bass’ work throughout my creative career, as we were introduced to him very early in my A-Level Graphic Design course. In particular, I love the way he links his two main areas – Graphic Design and Film Making. A lot of his Graphic Design features elements of Film – whether they are coincidentally posters for films, such as The Shining (pictured below) or logo design. In the poster for ‘The Shining’, I really likes how he uses ‘simple’ techniques we now take for granted; such as the clipping mask of the image in the word ‘The’. I am not usually a big lover of ‘un-even’ hand drawn type, but in this poster, the two lower class ‘i’s’ and the title type in general really give it a ‘personal’ feel, adding an element of terror much like a ransom note.

The more commercial side of Saul Bass’ work, such as the numerous number of logo’s he has created, have also had an evident effect on the creating of modern day logos. Many of the designs he has created as logo’s for many big brands, have stood the test of time. In many cases, from the original logo’s he created, to the same brands current day logos, you can evidently see how his logo’s have created the visual appearance behind the brand. For example, the logo he created for AT&T (top image, pictured below) has been carried through until this very day (bottom image, pictured below). The company has made changes to give the logo a more modern feel, but the crucial elements have all been kept in tact.

Saul Bass famously said that “Design is thinking, made visual”. Looking through images of his work, it is evident that he takes complex ideas and thoughts, and makes them into very simple, effective pieces of design. Saul Bass would have been featured as one of my heroes whether or not he was included in one of our ITAP talks.

The second creative we were introduced to was David Carson. I had never heard of him in name, but when we were shown images of his work, I realized I had seen some before. David Carson is sometimes named as a marmite designer; as there are many people in our faculty that love his design, and many that hate it. As a fan and user of simplistic design, I cannot ‘side’ on his work. I do not personally like many of his covers and spreads he has produced for magazines such as Ray Gun, as I find his work is a bit ‘all over the place’, and I like really structured, simple, vector design. Although, saying this, I have found an early piece of his work he did for Nike, pictured below, that I really love. As a HUGE fan on Nike Footwear, as you may see in some of my previous blog entries, I can be won over by any type of good Nike-related design. The way he has used rotated type, positive and negative type and huge areas of white space is something I used in my group magazine. He guides the eye around the piece by using type size/weight, word rotations and removing the counters in letters for other words. This makes us ‘work’ our way around the design, giving it a personal feel. I cannot say I am a great fan of what David Carson has done in Graphic Design, but I appreciate his talent and the imagination he has for being creative.

0

neville-brody-3

