The relationship between Image and Text is very strong, and has been evident throughout my entire creative life. To this day, I can’t remember an appropriate outcome (of mine) through GCSE Art, GCSE Graphics, A-level Art & A-Level Graphics that hasn’t used text and image. In my third unit for A-Level Art, I was looking at Kurt Schwitters and Hannah Hoch, both active artists throughout Dadaism. One of the pieces I was studying was ‘Blauer Vogel’ (pictured below, left), which translates into ‘Blue Bird’. The use of the text ‘Er und Sie’ (He and She), as well as other small cuttings from newspapers, such as days of the month, stamps, envelopes (etc) all relate to ‘relationships’ between a man and a woman. Without these words, this piece would lose a lot of contextual meaning, and would appear to the eye as a random collage of materials available throughout the 1920’s.

Another of my favourite artists that use text and image is Barbara Kruger. I first studied Barbara Kruger in GCSE Art, creating a piece about Michael Jackson with the same text layout (font, colour, background, general positioning) as some of her famous pieces. I could include many different Barbara Kruger pieces in this post, but I’ve choose one of my personal favourites; I Shop therefore I Am – which I believe was included in the lecture at some point, but I wasn’t in the lecture as I had a Job Interview at the time that couldn’t be rescheduled. This image has a very powerful meaning through the text, and would totally loose this if the text was removed. The phrase, making an emphasis on how the world today is so focused on the branding of clothes and the aspect of shopping for them. The hand ‘holding’ the text block makes it very personal, and the hand to me looks quite ‘young’ – quite short ‘fat’ fingers, indicating it could be a small child. This would show how our actions (the actions of people in the late 80’s) are effecting our previous generation, and how they are going to affect us. The format of the text is very bold and powerful, using a bold italic font of the widely known ‘Futura’ [which is used as many brand’s font, such as Supreme and Only NY (from my personal range)] on the bright red background in front of (mainly) black and white, simple imagery.

The use of image and text is extremely important in our magazine – as every page uses an image alongside a title and a text block. I found it very hard to incorporate the both into some pages, as our layout of A4 landscape spreads meaning we need to use at least 16pt type in our editorial – which there is quite a lot of, against detailed Illustrations and photography. Up to this point of very near completion, I am quite happy with how I am using the text along images – in a totally different way to Barbara Kruger or Kurt Schwitters, but I have tried to create relationships and keep the simplicity throughout every page, whilst still keeping things in as much of  a uniformed style as possible

0

http://azurebumble.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/kurt-schwitters-collage/

