As an overview, any design project – such as out current group project creating the magazine, can be summarized as a five stage process, and this links in to my first principle, Essential Milestones;

  • The Problem | The Client, User, Participant etc

For us, this was the brief we were given; to create a magazine based an any aspect of Birmingham. It didn’t make it any easier working in a group of people we didn’t know and had only just met – and to find common ground like this is very hard.

  • Ideas | Definition of the Problem, Our Thoughts, Research, Facts, Ideology, The Process etc

As soon as I got this brief, Ideas were being created in my head. As I hadn’t been in Education for near 3 months, my creative brain was bursting to go, so ideas and thoughts were being created just from the mention of one word, such as ‘architecture’ or ‘fashion’ (in Birmingham).

  • Visualization | Sketches, Drawings, Observations etc

In design, I am very good at visualizing what my outcomes may look like before I have even started. This doesn’t make me narrow minded in my development and experimentation, but gives me focus and something to aim for. After being at Uni for only two days, I was already designing for our group. It started with primarily sketches/hand-drawn logo and then I developed them on Adobe Illustrator.

  • Layouts | Organisation and Presentation of Solution

This is the point where I (we) are at now. I have recently started to finalize the style of our magazine, doing some drawn page layouts, and over the weekend have created (what may lead to be final) magazine page spreads.

  • Production | How to make you solution work in practice

Throughout the project I have always been thinking of how our magazine will ‘look’ on its final platform; Issuu, and I have done two trials to find out how it works, looks and feels. Incorporating the ‘template’ Issuu gives you into my design work will (I’m sure) give us a massive boost in how legit the magazine should eventually look.

All of these points/areas are evident when looking through my RVJ.

My second principle is ‘The Experts’. No-one can define that one designer, illustrator or photographer was an expect, as there are no rules or guidelines set in stone. People can have an opinion on who they ‘think’ is an expect from what they have done, said or created throughout their creative life.

My favourite ‘expert’ is Josef Muller-Brockmann.

“The grid system is an aid, not a guarantee. It permits a number of possible uses and each       designer can look for a solution appropriate to his personal style. But one must learn how to use the grid; it is an art that requires practice.”

“I still reserve the right, at any time, to doubt the solutions furnished by the Modular, keeping intact my freedom, which must depend on my feelings rather than my reason.”

“The use of the grid implies;
the will to systematize, to clarify,
the will to penetrate to the essentials, to concentrate,
the will to cultivate objectivity instead of subjectivity,
the will to rationalize the creative and technical production processes,
the will to integrate elements of colour, form and material,
the will to achieve architectural dominion over surface and space,
the will to adopt a positive, forward-thinking attitude,
the recognition of the importance of education and the effect of work devised in a constructive and creative spirit.”

After using pieces of Muller-Brockmann’s work at A-Level, I found the grid system within his work, that wasn’t fully apparent to me when I first looked at the piece (pictured below, left). The grid creates a rectangle which is blank – that ‘could’ be used for text, and the black rectangles used as it’s border, but no, Brockmann finds other areas to use type. The same goes with his other pieces, I love his use of Photography and how he then mixes type and design into it. Hands down, Josef Muller-Brockmann is my favourite designer, and I’d go far enough to call him an Expert.

muller

[Quotes]

http://quotesondesign.com/josef-muller-brockmann/

http://www.iainclaridge.co.uk/blog/42

