Many students ‘learn’ to become creative. When faced with new tasks, many methods are taught to us to try and stimulate ideas. The problem lies when trying to remain creative, looking back on old ideas in your RVJ/Sketchbook and creating new solutions. The five principles we were taught about each give us a new method to create fresh ideas, solutions and pathways to go down when designing.

The first principle I have been looking at is ‘Overcoming mindsets’. Within design there are many rules. These could be set by a brief or the client, or even just the basic rules and disciplines of Art & Design. Asking yourself “How can I stretch the parameters of the rules” can often lead to a new thought process, which can lead to further experimentation and development, which all may have an effect on the outcome.

Christoph Niemann is a perfect example of this theory. He finds ways to challenge the rules by getting outside the ‘comfort zone’. His playful manor in design allows him to free himself from the conventions and preconceptions. His designs (images below) are all very playful and innovative; he plays with the context of the subject, and then portrays this through design.

The second and final principle I looked at was principle 5; Managing a creative environmental. Many creatives have a certain area they like to work. For me, this is anywhere where I am comfortable. Thinking about it, I work in so many different surrounding, I don’t have anything I can call my ‘studio’ or workspace. A few months ago, whilst I was at college, I would of said I do half of my work in my bedroom – basing that the work is digital based. My bedroom is simply laid out – I don’t have anywhere specific to work – i just sit on my bed, or lie against my wall. I think this is works for me as the environmental is familiar and calm. Sometimes I would listen to music or just watching the television – a film or a program, depending what was on. Now, when I reflect nearer the end of the project, I can see I hardly ever work in my bedroom anymore – I don’t know the reason, but I now prefer to work downstairs, in our lounge on the same table we eat food from. I find it a lot easier – purely because my laptop can be flat on a surface, a can have a mouse (and keyboard, if needed) installed, my portable hard-drive can lie flat and I also have room for my Phone or iPad to be lying around in view if I need them or want a few minutes break. To me, this is now the easiest and the best place I can possibly be when I need/want to work.

16515615

